Meet Blake DeVries

How long have you been with your company and what areas of the business do you work in?

I've been with Buist six months as of May and I'm responsible for all things finance and accounting. 

What do you enjoy most about working at your company?

The individuals and company culture here at Buist is incredible. Also, due to our ESOP structure, everyone has an interest in the companies performance which tends to lead to higher quality work and better job performance.

What is your favorite thing in your office?

Since starting at Buist, I've become addicted to the huge bowl of life saver mints in the lobby so I'd have to go with that.

What three things should every Construction Financial Professional have on/in their desk?

1. A favorite pen. 

2. A list of To-Do's with a lot of extra room to add to it. 

3. A picture, saying, or bible verse that'll help give your day-to-day an additional purpose outside of a paycheck. 

What interested you in joining CFMA and what membership benefits do you hope to attain?

Coming from public accounting, I realized the CFMA was good way to network and meet a lot of other professionals that work within the construction industry. This will allow me to bounce questions off them, help identify process improvements, and implement best practices.

What career advice would you give to your 18‐year‐old self?

Nothing commands respect more than a good work ethic, good attitude, and a willingness to take on new opportunities.

What do you do to unwind from work?

After sitting at my desk all day, I'm usually ready to do something with my hands. Whether that's working on a few house projects, cutting the grass, or toying around with my motorcycle. 

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Mint moose tracks ice cream without fail.

Describe yourself in three words.

Patient, determined, and mindful.

What do you collect?

Random motorcycle parts mostly. Also, pop cans because I'm dutch and have diapers to buy.

What is one thing you can’t live without?

I'll get in trouble if I don't say my wife and kids but aside from them probably a motorcycle. Not necessarily a specific bike but just having one in general. Nothing wrong with some two-wheel therapy.

What is your favorite hobby or activity to do when you’re not working?

My wife would say my main hobby is collecting hobbies but I'd say my top few are hunting, fishing, and riding my motorcycle.